Parliament approves all 6 Ministerial nominees

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Parliament on Friday, March 24, 2023, approved all six of President Akufo-Addo’s ministerial nominees.

The House in a vote on Friday approved the appointment of six Ministerial nominees presented by the Appointment Committee in accordance with Article 79(1) of the 1992 Constitution.

Out of the 275 Members of Parliament eligible to vote, three were absent while the remaining 272 Members successfully cast their ballots.

The approved Ministers include Hon. K.T Hammond as Minister for Trade and Industry, Hon. Bryan Acheampong as Minister of Food and Agriculture.

Also, Mr. Stephen Asamoah Boateng as Minister of Religious Affairs and Chieftaincy, Hon. Mohammed Amin Adams as Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance, Mr. Osei Bonsu Amoah as Minister for Local Government and Rural Development.

Finally, Hon. Stephen Amoah as Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry.

On Thursday, the Appointments Committee presented their report on the nominees to Parliament, which was followed by a vote that occurred yesterday, March 24th, 2023.

These appointments were made to fill vacancies that were created by the resignations of three previous Ministers.

Prior to the voting to decide the fate of the nominees, the Minority insisted on rejecting them until certain conditions including amendments to the controversial Constitutional Instrument (CI) from the Electoral Commission (EC).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button