Boakye Agyarko withdraws from NPP run-off

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

A flagbearer aspirant of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Boakye Kyeremateng Agyarko, has formally withdrawn from the upcoming run-off election to determine the 5th aspirant.

The run-off election is being organised to break the tie between himself and Francis Addai-Nimoh on Saturday, September 2, 2023.

Mr. Agyarko said the reviewed format of the run-off, in which only the NPP National Council members would vote was unjust.

In a press release, Mr Ayarko described it as unconstitutional for the National Council to shortlist a few individuals to represent the 955 individuals who participated in the first round.

Citing other legal breaches, Mr Agyarko said the establishment of an electoral college also flouts the party’s constitution.

“It is totally unacceptable to me that such an unconstitutional act can be perpetuated on the altar of expediency. Am I to surmise that the party did not know the cost implication? It is unconscionable that the rules of the game will be changed midstream.

“Rules and regulations that are flip-flopped in such a manner is only detrimental to fair play and justice. It is a clear violation of the party’s constitution and the guidelines for the Special Electoral College. It is an unconstitutional act which | cannot allow myself to be associated with,” portions of his statement read.

Read full statement below;


A tie between Addai-Nimoh and Agyarko left the positions in the final five of the flagbearer race undecided.

The two tied for the final spot with nine votes each and will contest in a run-off on September 2, 2023.

Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia won the vote by a landslide, with 629 votes, representing 68.15%, followed by Kennedy Agyapong with 132 votes, representing 14.30%.

A former Minister of Trades and Industry, Alan Kyerematen, came third with 95 votes, representing 10.29%. Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto came fourth with 36 votes, representing 4.01%.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button