General News

Speaker refers vote of censure motion to eight-member committee

The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, has set up an eight-member committee to investigate the allegations made by the Minority Caucus against the Minister for Finance, Ken Ofori-Atta.

The eight-member committee is to be co-chaired by Dominic Ayine (MP for Bolgatanga East) and KT Hammond (MP for Adansi-Asokwa).

Members from the Majority side include; Patrick Boamah, Andrew Agyapa Mercer (MP for Sekondi) and Kwame Anyimadu Antwi

Members from the Minority include Zanetor Agyeman-Rawlings (MP for Korle Klottey), Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa (MP for North Tongu) and Bernard Ahiafor (MP for Akatsi South).

The committee has within seven working days to complete its work and submit its report to the House.

The Minority Caucus on Thursday (10 November) filed a motion for a vote of censure against the minister.

The Speaker’s ruling came after the deputy majority leader in Parliament, Alexander Afenyo-Markin, challenged the motion of the Minority on the basis that the Finance Minister would suffer injustice if the House goes ahead with the application.

Afenyo-Markin indicated that the claims by the Minority were criminal in nature upon proper scrutiny and called for a fair hearing for the minister.

He said, “these matters, upon proper scrutiny, are criminal in nature. The minister should be given a fair hearing.”

“If we go ahead with the application we will be doing a lot of injustice to our colleague. If this application is allowed it will be injustice and unfairness, the Minister wouldn’t have been given adequate time to prepare for his defence,” he added.

However, the Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu said President Akufo-Addo was not ready to sack the minister hence the need for the Speaker to admit the motion.

Iddrisu also appealed to the Majority Members of Parliament to support the move to get the minister removed from office.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button