NPP primaries: Two aspirants disqualified, 11 approved in Greater Accra

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Greater Accra Regional Vetting Committee of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has announced the disqualification of two aspirants from contesting the party’s parliamentary primaries.

The affected individuals are Mr Richard Hagan from the Okaikoi South Constituency and Mr Samuel Owusu Amankwah from the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency.

Mr Hagan’s disqualification resulted from the late submission of his nomination forms, while Mr Amankwah was disqualified for not being in good standing within the party.

However, the Committee approved eleven other aspirants from six constituencies in the region after they successfully met the constitutional requirements of the party.

The approved candidates include Madam Dakoa Newman from Okaikoi South, Dr Adomako Kissi, the incumbent MP for Anyaa Sowutuom, Elder Emmanuel Tobbin, Nana Boakye, and Mr Robert Richard Siapim from Tema West.

In addition, the Committee approved the candidacy of the incumbent MP for Dome-Kwabenya, Ms. Sarah Adwoa Safo, Mr. Michael Oquaye, and Sheila Oppong Sakyi.

In Bortianor Ngleshie Amanfro, incumbent MP Mr Sylvester Tetteh and his contenders – Vida Agyekum Acheampong and Mr Eric Kojo Kuranchie – were also given the green light.

Addressing the media after successfully passing through the vetting process, Dr Adomako Kissi, the incumbent MP for Anyaa Sowutuom, emphasized the importance of retaining experienced legislators in the coming Parliament.

He expressed confidence that maintaining him as the parliamentary candidate would strengthen the party’s chances of retaining the seat.

Adwoa Safo

Ms Adwoa Safo, an aspirant for Dome-Kwabenya, conveyed her confidence in winning the party’s primaries and retaining the seat in the 2024 General Election. She assured that despite the challenges in her second tenure, she still held the trust and confidence of her constituents.

Meanwhile, Mr. Michael Oquaye expressed confidence in defeating Adwoa Safo and retaining the seat for the NPP in the upcoming elections.

Mr Daniel Parker Odarlai France, the Greater Accra Regional Secretary of the NPP, expressed satisfaction with the vetting process, noting that the proceedings were orderly compared to previous instances of chaos.

Regarding the disqualification of the two aspirants, Mr France explained that Mr Hagan failed to submit his nomination forms before the deadline, while Mr Amankwah was disqualified for not being in good standing due to unpaid dues.

In response to his disqualification, Mr Hagan stated that he would not appeal the decision but pledged continued support for the sole aspirant and the NPP to ensure victory in the 2024 General Election.

The party is scheduled to hold elections for constituencies with sitting MPs on January 27, 2024, with fourteen constituencies in the Greater Accra Region participating.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button