Ghana excluded as Canada includes two more African countries to its visa-free travel list

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The government of Canada has recently declared visa-free travel for visitors from Morocco and Seychelles in a new travel policy that also added 11 other countries covering Asia, Africa, Central and South America, according to an official announcement made on Tuesday.

Ghana missed out on the extended privilege which included citizens of Antigua and Barbuda, St Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago, St Kitts-Nevis, Panama, Argentina, Costa Rica, Uruguay, Morocco, Seychelles, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Thailand, and the Philippines.

In a statement, Sean Fraser, the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, explained that the expansion of the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program aims to facilitate the arrival of “known travelers” from the aforementioned countries for both leisure and business purposes. This development not only improves convenience for travelers but also fosters increased travel, tourism, economic benefits, and stronger global bonds with the 13 countries involved.

Fraser highlighted the financial advantages for “known travelers” from these nations, as they can save a substantial amount of money due to the visa exemptions.

Currently, a visitor visa costs $100 per person or $500 for a family of five or more. In contrast, an eTA only costs seven dollars per person and remains valid for up to five years.

By introducing visa-free air travel, Canada aims to streamline and expedite the process for thousands of visitors who wish to spend up to six months in the country for business or leisure purposes.

This initiative is expected to make traveling to Canada faster, easier, and more affordable for individuals from the 13 selected countries.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button