General News

Censure committee for Ofori-Atta begins sitting today

The eight-member adhoc Committee set up by the Speaker of Parliament to probe allegations levelled against the Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta will begin its work today, November 15, 2022.

The Minority, among other things, cited general economic mismanagement and ethical concerns in its move for the vote of censure.

After hearing from the Minority, the Speaker appointed the committee to look into the claims and submit a report within seven days.

According to the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, the committee will have seven (7) days to present its findings to the House.
The Speaker stated that the committee’s formation will give the Finance Minister a fair opportunity to address the accusations made against him.

The Minority Leader in his presentation to the House stated that the record inflation rate, the depreciation of the cedi, the excessive borrowing and the reckless spending and the failure to control fuel prices are clear indications that the Finance Minister is not fit to continue in his role.

Dominic Ayine, an MP for Bolgatanga East, and K.T. Hammond, an MP for Adansi-Asokwa, are presiding over the committee.

The other members of the committee are Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, Zanetor Agyeman-Rawlings and Bernard Ahiafor from the Minority side, while Patrick Yaw Boamah, Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi and Andrew Agyapa Mercer constitute the group from the Majority side on the committee.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button