General News

Akufo-Addo swears in 3 new members of the Electoral Commission

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has sworn in three new members to the Election Commission of Ghana to take the position of retired commissioners.

They are Rev. Akua Ofori Boateng, Salima Ahmed Tijani, and Dr. Peter Appiahene.

They replace Mrs. Hajia Sa-Adatu Maida, Mr Ebenezer Aggrey-Fynn and Mrs. Rebecca Kabukie Adjalo who have all retired.

They have therefore joined Mrs. Jean Mensa as Chairperson, Mr. Samuel Tettey as Deputy Chairman for Operations, Dr. Bossman Eric Asare, Deputy Chairman for Corporate and Ms. Adwoa Asuama Abrefa as Commissioner.

The Electoral Commission

The Electoral Commission is one of the governance institutions provided under the 1992 constitution of Ghana.

The Commission was established by the Electoral Commission Act (Act 451) of 1993. It was set up purposely to manage the conduct of all public elections and referenda, to handle all matters directly related to the conduct of elections in Ghana.

The EC is currently chaired by Jean Mensa. Dr Bossman Eric Asare is the deputy chairman responsible for corporate affairs and Samuel Tettey is the second deputy chairman in charge of operations.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button